Archive for February, 2012

So the Arctic Monkeys aren’t letting a newly released album stop their creative juices from flowing. They have just released a stand alone single entitled “R U Mine”. The song takes things away from all the albums that the Monkeys have released so far. It has a kick ass beat and lyrics that just fit so perfectly well. The video for this song is just as entertaining and also features a cameo from Steve Jones from the Sex Pistols. Fitting, if you really think about it.


Indie group Good Old War are back with their third album following their self-titled 2012 release. The new album will be called Come Back As Rain and the song they have just released is called “Can’t Go Home”. The band mixes their folksy acoustic guitar and melancholy sentiment into a song that leaves you with a joyous feeling of what it’s like to come back home after a long time away. Consequence of Sound has a stream of the song and also the track list for the new album. Check out the song here Good Old War-Can’t Go Home

M Ward’s new album A Wasteland Companion hits stores April 10th but he has released another new track from the album called “Primitive Girl”. This is a very upbeat and poppy tune from the artist. This song actually feels like the most appropriate song for Spring, a warm weather toe tapper. Check out the song below and also check the track list for the new album. 

A Wasteland Companion Tracklist:
01. Clean Slate (For Alex & El Goodo)
02. Primitive Girl
03. Me and My Shadow
04. Sweetheart
05. I Get Ideas
06. The First Time I Ran Away
07. A Wasteland Companion
08. Watch the Show
09. There’s a Key
10. Crawl After You
11. Wild Goose
12. Pure Joy

Our friends at NPR have given us another new musical treat this week by allowing us to hear the entire new Fanfarlo album before its release on Feb 28th. The album entitled Rooms Filled With Light is another good rock-folk album from the group. The band has a way of making a song that would otherwise be melancholy into a joyous experience with a great slow build that only emphasizes the impact. The band knows exactly how to get your attention and with this album I know they surely will. Check out the new album here. Stream Fanfarlo Album

So you remember Blur, those guys that were one of the more popular British bands of the 90’s. Well recently while performing a concert in London, the band performed a new song called “Under the West Way”. This gives hope to all the Blur fans out there that a new album will definitely be on its way soon. Add in the fact that all four members of the group are coming together to perform for the first time in three years at this years Brit Awards and I absolutely feel like we will be hearing more from the band in the near future.

So the title is a little misleading, “End of the Line” is actually a new song from Sleigh Bells from their forthcoming album Reign of Terror. The band debuted the song last night on Saturday Night Live after performing their other new song “Comeback Kid”. You can check out the new song here End of the Line . If checking out this new song isn’t enough for you and waiting for February 21st to come around just won’t cut it well guess what, you can stream the entire album right now from The New York Times . Listening to the album myself i give it a 7/10 meaning there is no sophomore slump here. Here’s to Sleigh Bells rocking clubs and arenas for years to come.

Daniel Rossen of Grizzly Bear is about to release his solo album Silent Hour/Golden Mile out March 20th. He has released two songs from the album, ‘Silent song” and “Saint Nothing”. The songs shows how well Rossen infuses his dark tones with Jazz, soft piano, and haunting vocals. You feel a sot of unsettling presence when listening to his songs but you still enjoy them none the less.  Check out both of Rossen’s songs below.

So M. Ward has released a new video for the first single of his next album called A Wasteland Companion. The first single is called “The First Time I Ran Away”. The album is set to be released on April 10th. Nice to see Ward back after three years where he was mainly focusing on his side projects She and Him and Monsters of Folk. The track gets back to what people expect from Ward and if you were waiting for him to step back into his more folksy roots here then you will feel very happy about what you hear.With a return to guitar driven ethereal voice overtones this is the M. Ward we love.  Check out the video below.